Google Search
Google Translate

Ysgol Babanod


Infant School

Cwricwlwm Curriculum




We teach a broad and balanced Curriculum with the Four Purposes at the centre of all our planning. We aim to make our pupils ambitious, capable learners who are healthy confident individuals. We want our pupils to become enterprising, creative contributors who are ethically informed citizens. The curriculum we teach is planned under six areas of learning ; Expressive Arts, Health and Well Being, Humanities, Languages, Literacy and Communication, Mathematics and Numeracy and Science and Technology. The Digital Competence Framework and Literacy and Numeracy Framework are integral to planning and taught across the curriculum.


We are always striving to make our pupils independent learners who are motivated and enthusiastic. It is important to us that the learning in our school is child centred and Pupil Voice is integral to our planning, teaching and learning.  In class, focus tasks are taught in ‘bubbles’ with an adult supporting, guiding and challenging all. Learning outside the ‘bubbles’ takes place in our enhanced provision which children access independently. These activities provide authentic contexts for learning and build on previous knowledge and skills. We constantly encourage collaborative work involving problem solving and creative and critical thinking. The strategies we use encourage pupils to take responsibility for their own learning helping them become ambitious and capable learners.





The Four Purposes








The 12 Pedagogical Principles

The 12 Pedagogical Principle Statements



1. Focus on the 4 Purposes  



2. Sustained pupil effort to reach high but achievable targets  



3. Employing a broad repertoire of teaching approaches  



4. Promote problem solving, creative and critical thinking  



5. Building on previous knowledge and




6. Create authentic contexts of learning 


7. Use Assessment For Learning to

   accelerate progress       



8. Make connections within & across

   Areas of Learning            



9. Reinforce Cross Curricular Responsibilities, Literacy, Numeracy & DCF                                                             



10. Encourage learners to take

     responsibility for their own learning  



11. Support social and emotional development & positive



12. Encourage



Wider Skills